Credit Cards: You Can Live Without Them

I don’t own a credit card, and I am fine.  Today, I read this post from fashion maven Gala Darling about she lives without a credit card, which makes it easier for to only spend what she earns. Gala says:

The fact of the matter is that I only recently moved to America, & as I have absolutely no credit history here, it would be nigh impossible for me to get a credit card (even if I wanted one, which I don’t!). This puts me in the position of actually having to EARN my money BEFORE I spend it, & while this may sound like an epic drag, it is one of my keys to being financially secure. (Putting a bunch of your money into savings every month is obviously another good step!)

If you rationalize keeping a credit card for making purchases online or where cash is not accepted, then use a debit card. A few weeks ago, I talk to the founder of Perk Street Financial about their debit card.  They have a debit cards rewards program where you can earn at the minimum 1%  cash back on all other non PIN purchases on days when your  account balance is less than $5,000. If your account is $5000 or more, then you can  earn 2% back. I love this idea of rewarding people for behavior that are already doing.

Now, I am not going everyone to go into their wallet and cut up their credit cards.  Your personal finance is just that-personal.  I just want to let people that there are debit card options, and you may earn some money while spending money.

One thought on “Credit Cards: You Can Live Without Them

  1. I AM A LOCAL BOOKKEEPER AND I HELP PEOPLE SAVE THEIR MONEY SO THEY CAN MANAGE WITHOUT CREDIT CARDS AND USE THE MONEY THAT THEY HAVE AND STOP SPENDING WHAT THEY DON’T HAVE…

    I LIKE THIS STORY A LOT.

Leave a Reply

